Jirapa Municipal
Jirapa Municipal

The Jirapa Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 11 of Municipalities and Districts in the Upper West Region.

The Jirapa Municipal established by LI 1902 was carved out of the then Jirapa Lambussie District in 2007 as part of Ghana’s decentralization process.

Capital: Jirapa
ISO 3166 code: GH-UW-JP
Region: Upper West
Municipal Chief Executive: Christina Bombanye Amadu
Member of Parliament: Dapilah Seidu Cletus

The Administrative Capital of the Municipality is Jirapa. The Jirapa Municipality is located in the north-western corner of the Upper West Region of Ghana.

Districts of Upper West Region
Districts of Upper West Region

In terms of size, it covers a total land area of 1,166 square kilometres.

The District Shares boundaries with Lambussie Karni District to the north, to the west with Lawra Municipal, to the south with Nadowli District , to the south-east with Daffiama Bussie Issa District and to the north-east with Sissala West District.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 91,279 with 43,021 males and 48,258 females.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here