East Gonja Municipal
East Gonja Municipal

The East Gonja Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 7 MMDAs in the Savannah Region.

The East Gonja Municipal was created by a legislative instrument (LI 1938) in 2007. Salaga, is the administrative capital. It is located at the South-eastern section of the Savannah Region of Ghana. The Municipality lies within Latitude 8 oN & 9.29oN and, Longitude 0.29E & 1.26oW.

East Gonja Municipal shares boundaries with the Mion District and the Tamale Metropolitan Assembly to the north, Central Gonja District to the west, Nanumba North Municipal, Nanumba South District and Kpandai District to the east, and the Bone East Region to the south.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 117,755 with 60,199 males and 57,556 females.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here