Berekum West District Assembly
Berekum West District Assembly

The Berekum West District Assembly is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 12 administrative districts in the Bono Region.

The Berekum West District is carved out of the Berekum Municipal now Berekum East Municipal Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded District Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2337, the Berekum West District Assembly has its capital as Jinijini and was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.

The District is located on the south-western part of the Bono Region and shares boundaries with Dormaa East District in the south-west, north-east by Jaman South Municipal, and north-west by the Tain District.

The District lies within the wet semi-equatorial climate zone marked by double rainfall maxima; June and October with a mean annual rainfall between 1,275mm to 1,544mm. The first rainy season is from April to July (maximum) and the second rainy season is from September to October (minimum) when the District comes under the influence of the wet maritime air mass.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 49,464 with 23,593 males and 25,871 females.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here