North Tongu District

The North Tongu District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 18 of Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region.

With its Administrative capital Battor Dugame was carved from North Tongu (Now Central Tongu District) and forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The District shares boundaries with Central Tongu District to the east, to the west with Asuogyman and Dangme West Districts respectively, to the north with Adaklu District and to the south with Ada West District.

In terms of size, it covers a total land area of 1,154 square kilometres

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 110,891 with 52,996 males and 57,895 females.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here