Abuakwa North Municipal Assembly
Abuakwa North Municipal Assembly

The Abuakwa North Municipal Assembly is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the 33 Municipalities and Districts in Eastern Region.

The Abuakwa North Municipal Assembly is carved out of the East Akim Municipal as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded District Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2305, the New Juaben North Municipal Assembly has its capital as Kukurantumi.

It was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts, total land area of 311 square kilometers.

The Municipality is bounded by Fanteakwa North District to the north, New Juaben North Municipal to the south-east, Yilo Krobo Municipal to the east and Abuakwa South Municipal to the west.

This promotes inter-district trade because of its location and closeness of the Municipality to the Eastern Regional capital, Koforidua and this present a great potential in terms of the spill-over of commercial activities as well as need for residential accommodation in the Municipality.

The 2021 population census for the Municipality stands at 91,297 comprising 44,374 males and 46,923 Females.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here